Databases for Slavic studies: a checklist
Find the following databases at http://www.lib.ku.edu
Articles and Databases > By Subject > Areas Studies > REES
BOOKS, Journals, CD-ROMs
- KU Library Catalog
- WorldCat -- for books elsewhere. From here you can automatically fill in an Interlibrary Loan request form.]
- Russian National Bibliography (via Eastview) -- The Russian National Bibliography (Letopis') is the key resource for identifying materials published in Russia, books and journal articles.
- Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliography -- Dscribes material on the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe — books, manuscripts, dissertations, and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals. The Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies covers from 1992 to the present, with bimonthly updates.
ARTICLES
General
- Expanded Academic ASAP -- A multi-disciplinary database for undergraduate research, providing information on disciplines such as the humanities, communication studies, social science, the arts, science and technology. Covers the following Slavic journals, most of which are not electronic full-text.
| Canadian Slavonic Papers |
Russian Life (Formerly: Soviet Life) |
| Central European History |
Russian Politics & Law |
| Canadian Slavonic Papers |
Russian Review |
| Central European History |
Russian Social Science Review |
| East European Politics and Societies |
Russian Studies in Literature |
| East European Quarterly |
Russian Studies in History |
| Germano-Slavica |
Slavic and East European Journal |
| Review of Central & East European Law |
Slavic Review |
| Russia Express-Perestroika : Executive Briefing |
Slavonic and East European Review |
| Russia/NIS Telecom Weekly |
|
- eHRAF collection of ethnography -- The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), a non-profit consortium of universities and colleges, seeks to encourage and facilitate comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture. The Collection of Ethnography is a cross-cultural database that contains pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
- Index of Christian art -- Contains over 20,000 work of art records which are accompanied by over sixty thousand images in color and black and white man. The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 Emphasis is on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, and these include manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth.
- ISI Emerging Markets -- Delivers news, company and financial data direct from more than 35 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America and Central and Eastern Europe]
- JSTOR -- Image & full-text online access of core academic journals in many disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.]
| Europe-Asia Studies |
Slavic Review |
| Soviet Studies |
American Slavic and East European Review |
| Russian Review |
Slavonic and East European Review. American Series |
| Slavic and East European Journal |
|
- Lexis/Nexis Academic -- LexisNexis Academic contains information on current events, sports, business, economics, law, taxes, etc. Full text of selected newspaper articles can be found. In addition to Academic Universe.
- MLA international bibliography -- Indexes international scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association of America.]
- Wilson Omnifile [OmniFile is a database that contains indexing, abstracting and full-text of approximately 1,338 periodicals. Subject overage includes science, the humanities, the social sciences, general interest topics, as well as business].
- World News Connection [Contains English translations of foreign news sources provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). The database is compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources on significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Successor to the FBIS index. (1975-1996)]
Slavic specific (includes Int’l affairs)
- American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies Online (ABSEES) -- Online version of The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES). ABSTRACTS ONLY, NO FULL-TEXT]
- Central and Eastern European online library (CEEOL) -- Online archive which provides access to articles, scholarly journals, electronic books and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central and Eastern Europe.]
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online -- Columbia International Affairs Online is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It accesses a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.]
- Current Digest of the Soviet/Post Soviet Press -- Provides translations or abstracts of materials selected from a wide variety of Russian-language newspapers and periodicals. Covers political reform, public health, privatization, foreign policy and international affairs, and other social, cultural and legal issues. Subjects include: Business ; Government ; International Affairs ; Medicine ; Social Sciences. CDSP contains full text of all issues offrom Jan. 31, 2001 to the present. Available electronically thorugh East View Universal Databases platform.
- EastView universal databases. Central Newspapers -- Contains full-text of over 50 of the most influential Russian and NIS periodicals on the same day they are published. The archives of back issues are a source for information on business, economics, domestic and foreign policy and important political events in Russia and the former Soviet Union.
- EastView universal databases. CIS and Baltic Publications -- Contains Full-text articles from authoritatiave newspapers and periodicals from Central Asia, Caucasus and Baltics. Sources are in Russian and English covering issues of domestic and international importance.
- East View universal databases. Social sciences & humanities -- Full-text electronic versions of major Russian periodicals in social sciences and humanities, comprising journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences, popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications.
- East View universal databases. Governmentt Publications -- Monitors mainly the events in the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation. Provides access to Russian government documents, stenographic records of Federation Council and Duma hearings, draft legislation, official resolutions, vote results and other papers of record.
- East View universal databases. Military Publications -- Provides access to a broad range of military texts, including central military journals and regional military district newspapers in all major strategic areas, from both official and independent sources.
- East View universal databases. Ukrainian Newspapers -- Provides access to newspapers, journals, and bibliographic titles published in Ukraine. The titles cover a broad range of political, economics and cultural affairs of Ukraine. The resource can be searched in Ukrainian, Russian, or English.
- EastView. Russian National Bibliography -- The Russian National Bibliography (Letopis') is the key resource for identifying materials published in Russia, books and journal articles.
- Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliography (See above under BOOKS)
- European bibliography of Slavic and East European studies -- EBSEES is a free citation database for research on the USSR and the Communist countries of Eastern Europe. It indexes research publications in a fast-changing geopolitical area which consisted of 9 states in 1989 and now, after the break-up of the USSR, Yugoslavia and Czechoslovakia, comprises 27 independent countries. It is now longer being updated
- Erik Herron’s Guide to Post-Communist States -- Designed to facilitate research on the politics and economics of transition states in the post-communist world. Contains thousands of links to governmental and non-governmental web sites based in post-communist state (http://www.ku.edu/~herron/).
- Fundamental digital library, Russian literature & folklore --FEB-web is a repository of Russian verbal art and the scholarly and other texts vital to understanding it. FEB-web makes the canon of Russian verbal art available free of charge to anyone with internet access. FEB-web is also a unique analytical tool with functional capabilities that allow researchers to approach Russian verbal art in a fundamentally new way.
- Know Europe -- Know Europe provides information about the institutions, structures, countries, regions, peoples, policies and processes of the European Union and the wider Europe].
- Transitions Online -- Online journal covering 28 post-communist countries. Access through the Library Catalog.